Art tote for Pascale

As I mentioned, my good friend’s daughter, Pascale, wouldn’t be caught dead in a dress.  She even goes in the pool wearing boys swim trunks and a t-shirt.  She’s a very talented soccer player and a very talented artist.  She’s a renaissance girl.

So rather than make her the popover sundress that I made her sister, I made her an art tote so she can carry her art supplies with her to the sidelines.

I used the tote bag instructions in Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing book but I added the seams for Pascale to be able to keep her pens and pencils on the outside.  Before sewing it together I drew lines with a washable marker so I’d know where to sew the seams.

This was the first book I bought when I got my sewing machine a couple years ago and the first sewing projects I did were from here.  My daughter and I were taking a family yoga class at the time so I made these bags for us from her book.

I also attempted some pot holders (in case you hadn’t noticed, I’m in love, love, love with IKEA fabrics):I’ll post some other Lotta attempts another time.  For now, I hope Pascale likes her new art tote.

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

