Super Easy Summer Top

If only summer would actually come…

We’ve been getting record low temps and record rainfall here in Northern California for this time of year.  So to try to get my mind off the bad weather and perhaps to will summer to arrive, I decided to try this tutorial for an easy summer top that I’ve had bookmarked for a while now.

I’ve put it off because I’ve only had one experience with shirring and elastic thread and it didn’t turn out very well.  A couple years ago I tried making my niece this Heather Ross Smocked Sundress using shirring but it never really shirred and ended up being a loose tube around her.  I don’t think she wore it very much.

So I thought I’d try it again after reading online how easy it is, figuring I must have made a mistake.  I decided I would add on a couple thin straps to hold it up since I had nightmares of my 3 year-old son humiliating me in the grocery store by getting a hold of my tube top…  I used an Indian material I bought on etsy – a very soft cotton called mulmul which apparently gets softer with each washing.  I really like how it turned out but I have to say that the shirring still isn’t as elastic as what you can buy in the store.  Maybe it’s because I only sewed 5 lines of elastic thread and what you buy from a store probably has a lot more.  It does shirr the top and make it snug, it just feels a little fragile when I pull on it.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

